Cruet Set: Celtic roots

For this project we’re looking into slip casting methods to create cruet sets. Being at first stunted when coming to ideas I finally decided to look into Celtic art. I’d looked into the Celts before and seen the largest collection of Celtic artifacts in Britain at the British museum:

100_2760 100_2646100_2775 100_2771100_2781 100_2740

However for this project I need to go a lot deeper than just copying patterns. I want to try and understand the patterns, how that can be significant to salt and pepper pots, how salt and pepper was significant to the Celts, what the patterns mean, make my own patterns, etc. etc. The stone work is what I’m most interested in. Pillar shapes seem to go well with salt and pepper pots.

Leave a Reply

